ISTE 2012 6/25/12 – What Did I Learn Today?

Wow!  Today was the first day of ISTE conference and it was packed with great ideas, lots of energy and phenomenal people!  I started the day by meandering through the exhibition hall, getting my bearings for the how the conference center is organized and stumbled upon the ESSDACK booth where they had “Bling my Badge”! I posted about earlier today and am loving my “Blinged out Badge”.  It took me pretty much all morning and a little of the afternoon to get through the exhibition hall and I know I haven’t been to all the vendors I need to see!  I’ll try to squeeze time time in tomorrow to get to those vendors.

I had the honor of meeting with the Capstone Digital and learned about their new venture – myOn Reader.  As an advocate of mobile technologies in education I was so happy to see a solution like myOn Reader.  This is a web based (soon to be app) that let’s teachers personalized their student’s reading list, monitor their progression, and individualize their reading practice.  I’m excited to bring this solution to my district and help facilitate the individualization with new education resources.

My day ended with a session hosted by Kevin Honeycutt and Tammy Woschester.  They demonstrated several ways teachers can use to  accept student work digitally. My favorite was ShowMe.  I’d heard about ShowMe quite a while ago, but never had the time to explore it’s functions and play around with it to see how it works.  I was amazed at how simple the app is to use, but also how powerful it is because of the social networking it incorporates in sharing.  Not only can teachers use this app to record them teaching a lesson, but they can also post it to share with anyone., especially their students and parents.

I’m now off to explore the Gas Lamp district of San Diego and see what else I can learn.  I’ll post more tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

