Nine Rules for Stifling Innovation – Rosabeth Moss Kanter – Harvard Business Review

Nine Rules for Stifling Innovation – Rosabeth Moss Kanter – Harvard Business Review.

As a leader in technology integration and an advocate for innovation, especially disruptive innovation I love starting pilot programs in my district.  This year I have three elementary teachers who are using iTouches, iPads and iPad minis in their classroom, I have an intermediate school piloting a BYOD initiative and the middle school piloting a 1:1 iPad pilot.  I’ve found that those stiflers come in many forms and ranks and am amazed at the poison  they can spread.  They just don’t understand the power  that technology offers in providing students with opportunities to troubleshoot, problem solve and create.  The frustrating thing about being an Innovation Nurturer is the perceptions of people who choose not to believe.  I do love the way the article ends with the list of Innovation Nurturers. As I was reading through this article I reflected on each “stifling” point and am happy to report that with my staff and with the pilot teachers I am not doing any of the Innovation Stiflers listed.    I think I’ll start next weeks staff meeting with this article and have my staff tell me how they are nurturing innovation.

Leave a Reply

